Anadolu University is one of the most popular public sector universities of Turkey. It is situated in Eskişehir, Turkey, and is one of the largest universities in the world in terms of enrollment.

Anadolu University of Turkey

History of Anadolu University

Anadolu University was created in 1982 when four higher studies institutions of Eskişehir united. These are named as the Academy of Economics and Commercial Sciences of Eskişehir, the State Academy of Architecture and Engineering, the Institute of Education, and a medical school. By 1958, it continued the teaching process as the Academy of Economics and Commercial Sciences.

Campus of Anadolu University

Most of its faculties and schools including the Open Education Faculty, are located at the Yunusemre Campus in the center of Eskişehir. The Yunusemre Campus is the home to student housing, Anadolu’s university hospital, and almost all admin blocks.

Ikieylul Campus is present outside the city, and has housed the School of Physical Education and Sports, the Faculty of Engineering and Architecture, and the School of Civil Aviation.

Apart from these two campuses, the Anadolu University has the Porsuk Vocational School which is present separately in Eskişehir, the Bilecik Vocational School in Bilecik, and the Bozüyük Vocational School in Bozüyük.

Distance Education at Anadolu University

The university also offers various distance learning programs. For virtual learning students, the university has 88 administrative centers in urban area of Turkey.

The Higher Education Act of 1981 nominated Anadolu University as the national provider of distance education. It is strongly emphasizing on high quality distance learning programs since 1982. The university aims to educate Turks living in rural areas, as well as international students who don’t feel it convenient to join on-campus programs. The effort proved to be fruitful as the enrollment in open education programs has increased over the years.

Programs offered via distance education include 4-year Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), degrees in Economics and in Business Administration, and 2-year associate degrees in a variety of fields.

Anadolu University has collaborated with the SUNY Empire State College to offer eMBA degree via distance learning. The courses are delivered via methods like pre-recorded television and radio broadcasts, video-conferences, and internet. Students can freely access counseling or attend optional evening classes at some of the Anadolu University bureaus located throughout Turkey.

Faculties and Schools of Anadolu University

The faculties of Anadolu University are as below:

  1. Distance Education Faculty
  2. Faculty of Pharmacy
  3. Faculty of Humanities
  4. Faculty of Education
  5. Faculty of Science
  6. Faculty of Fine Arts
  7. Faculty of Law
  8. Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
  9. Faculty of Economics
  10. Faculty of Communication Sciences
  11. Faculty of Business Administration
  12. Faculty of Engineering
  13. Faculty of Architecture and Design

The university has following schools:

  1. School of Physical Education and Sports
  2. School of Music and Drama
  3. School of Industrial Arts
  4. School for the Handicapped
  5. School of Tourism and Hotel Management
  6. School of Foreign Languages

Its vocational schools are:

  1. Eskisehir Vocational School
  2. Bozüyük Vocational School
  3. Bilecik Vocational School
  4. Porsuk Vocational School

Anadolu University is a member of the Caucasus University Association. Notable alumni are Metin Erad, Levent Üzümcü, Ahmet Vehbi Şafak, Fethi Heper, Yılmaz Büyükerşen, Nurgül Yeşilçay, Ayşe Hatun Önal, Beyazıt Öztürk, Ersin Düzen, and Pelin Karahan.


Leave a reply